Thursday, December 18, 2008

Press conference on 21st December

L-RAMP is inviting press for the Press conference of “L-RAMP Award of Excellence” at 11:30 AM at Taramani Guest House, IIT Madras on 21st December, Sunday, followed by lunch. Press persons can attend “L-RAMP Award of Excellence” at CLT Hall, IIT Madras at 2 PM on the same day after the press conference. Mr. Kris Gopalakrishnan, CEO of Infosys is the Chief Guest for the programme.

Press Note-


Lemelson Recognition and Mentoring Program (L-RAMP) is a joint initiative of Indian Institute of Technology-Madras and Rural Innovations Network, supported by The Lemelson Foundation USA. The programme was launched in September of 2004. L-RAMP supports ‘Innovations’ that can eventually create an impact in the lives of the larger section of the society, especially of the underserved population. L-RAMP provides Funding, Mentoring, Network support and recognition to the innovators to take their innovations to market. L-RAMP focuses on sectors like- Agriculture, Dairy, Water, Energy. Till now, L-RAMP has provided incubation support to 23 innovators and some of them are ready for commercialization. For more information, Please visit-

The core objective of the programme is to provide incubation support to innovations that show strong promise for positive social benefits, while also leading to self-sustaining enterprises. In the pilot phase of the programme, efforts were focused on innovators based in the state of Tamil Nadu.

As an initiative to encourage the innovator community and to recognize their efforts, L-RAMP has institutionalized “L-RAMP Award of Excellence”, an annual awards program. Through this award, we try to recognize various stakeholders’ viz. grass-root innovators, Young innovator, women innovator, social enterprises, social investors, media and a lifetime achievement award etc., who work towards making contribution to ‘Bottom of Pyramid’ innovation and grass root entrepreneurship.

All awards, excluding Lifetime Achievement Award, will carry a trophy, certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 25,000. Lifetime Achievement Award will carry a trophy and Rs. 50,000.
There are eleven awards in seven categories. Applications were made directly by the participants. The selection process consisted of three stages viz., a) Desk screening by team members based on applications received and expert reviews as and when required, and b) Selection Level 1- Presentations by short listed applicants to the panel of eminent Jury ,who selected the two to three potential candidates/ nominees c) Final selection- eminent panel of Jury selected the Winners.

The awards ceremony will take place at CLT Hall, IIT Madras on Sunday 21st December 2008 and will be presided over by Mr. Kris Gopalakrishnan, CEO of Infosys.

1 comment:

apto inn said...

You post explain everything in detail and it was very interesting to read. Thank you. nata coaching centres in chennai